List of The Masters Winners by Year

List of The Masters Winners by Year

2024 marks the 88th edition of The Masters. We have the list of The Masters winners by year for you to check out below. We also include the score the champion shot to earn the Green Jacket. The tournament first started in 1934, and it is the first of four major golf championships to be played every year. 

It is also the only Major to use the same course every year, the Augusta National Golf Club. Jack Nichlaus has won the tournament the most (six times). He was also the oldest champion at 46 years and 82 days old when winning in 1986. 

Which Player has the Lowest Score in a Round at the Masters? 

Nick Price owns the honor of the lowest single round score at the Masters. He shot a 63 in 1986 (Jack Nicklaus won the tournament that year). Greg Norman tied him in 1996, but also lost the tournament that year to Nick Faldo. 

What was the Highest Score to Win the Masters? 

The highest score to win the Masters was originally made by Sam Snead in 1954. He shot a 289 for the four rounds (+1). This score has been tied twice since then. Jack Burke, Jr. shot +1 in 1956 and Zach Johnson in 2007. It just shows that year-by-year, Augusta National can prove to be extremely difficult based on how much rain there has or has not been and the setup of the course. 

What is the 2024 Masters Purse Size? 

The 2024 Masters purse is estimated to be at least $18 million USD this year. The winner’s share is 18 percent of the purse, which is roughly $3.24 million. The purse will be formally announced on Saturday after the cut is made (post 36 holes to include the top 50 with ties). The 2023 Master’s champion earned 3.24 million as well. 

List of The Masters Winners by Year (1970-2023)

We have split the list of the Masters winners by year up for you so that you can follow it a bit easier. Besides listing the country of the winner and their four round score, we also list how many Masters wins the individual golfer has earned to that year’s win. 

YearChampionCountryScore to par
2023Jon RahmSpain-12
2022Scottie SchefflerUSA-10
2021Hideki MatsuyamaJapan-10
2020Dustin JohnsonUSA-20
2019Tiger Woods (5th win)USA-13
2018Patrick ReedUSA-15
2017Sergio GarciaSpain-9
2016Danny WillettEngland–5
2015Jordan SpiethUSA-18
2014Bubba WatsonUSA-8
2013Adam ScottAustralia-9
2012Bubba WatsonUSA-10
2011Charl SchwartzelSouth Africa-14
2010Phil Mickelson (3rd win)USA−16
2009Ángel CabreraArgentina−12
2008Trevor ImmelmanSouth Africa−8
2007Zach JohnsonUSA1
2006Phil Mickelson (2nd win)USA−7
2005Tiger Woods (4th win)USA−12
2004Phil Mickelson (1st win)USA−9
2003Mike WeirCanada−7
2002Tiger Woods (3rd win)USA−12
2001Tiger Woods (2nd win)USA−16
2000Vijay SinghFiji−10
1999José María Olazábal (2nd win)Spain−8
1998Mark O’MearaUSA−9
1997Tiger Woods (1st win)USA−18
1996Nick Faldo (3rd win)England−12
1995Ben Crenshaw (2nd win)USA−14
1994José María Olazábal (1st win)Spain−9
1993Bernhard Langer (2nd win)Germany−11
1992Fred CouplesUSA−13
1991Ian WoosnamWales−11
1990Nick Faldo (2nd win)England−10
1989Nick Faldo (1st win)England−5
1988Sandy LyleScotland−7
1987Larry MizeUSA−3
1986Jack Nicklaus (6th win)USA−9
1985Bernhard Langer (1st win)West Germany−6
1984Ben Crenshaw (1st win)USA−11
1983Seve Ballesteros (2nd win)Spain−8
1982Craig StadlerUSA−4
1981Tom Watson (2nd win)USA−8
1980Seve Ballesteros (1st win)Spain−13
1979Fuzzy ZoellerUSA−8
1978Gary Player (3rd win)South Africa−11
1977Tom Watson (1st win)USA−12
1976Raymond FloydUSA−17
1975Jack Nicklaus (5th win)USA−12
1974Gary Player (2nd win)South Africa−10
1973Tommy AaronUSA−5
1972Jack Nicklaus (4th win)USA−2
1971Charles CoodyUSA−9
1970Billy CasperUSA−9
List of Masters Winners (1970-2023)

List of The Masters Winners by Year (1934-1969)

YearChampionCountryScore to par
1969George ArcherUSA−7
1968Bob GoalbyUSA−11
1967Gay BrewerUSA−8
1966Jack Nicklaus (3rd win)USAE
1965Jack Nicklaus (2nd win)USA−17
1964Arnold Palmer (4th win)USA−12
1963Jack Nicklaus (1st win)USA−2
1962Arnold Palmer (3rd win)USA−8
1961Gary Player (1st win)South Africa−8
1960Arnold Palmer (2nd win)USA−6
1959Art Wall, Jr.USA−4
1958Arnold Palmer (1st win)USA−4
1957Doug FordUSA−5
1956Jack Burke, Jr.USA1
1955Cary MiddlecoffUSA−9
1954Sam Snead (3rd win)USA1
1953Ben Hogan (2nd win)USA−14
1952Sam Snead (2nd win)USA−2
1951Ben Hogan (1st win)USA−8
1950Jimmy Demaret (3rd win)USA−5
1949Sam Snead (1st win)USA−6
1948Claude HarmonUSA−9
1947Jimmy Demaret (2nd win)USA−7
1946Herman KeiserUSA−6
1943–45canceled due to World War II
1942Byron Nelson (2nd win)USA−8
1941Craig WoodUSA−8
1940Jimmy Demaret (1st win)USA−8
1939Ralph GuldahlUSA−9
1938Henry PicardUSA−3
1937Byron Nelson (1st win)USA−5
1936Horton Smith (2nd win)USA−3
1935Gene SarazenUSA−6
1934Horton Smith (1st win)USA−4
List of Masters Winners (1934-1969)

Will Lewis

Have been covering sports of all types for more than 18 years. March Madness is my favorite time of year before we hit the NBA and NHL playoffs. Will is a lifelong Kentucky Wildcats fan and rooted for the Bengals way back when Joe Montana dashed our hopes and dreams. Now a Padres fan as well. He covers all sports here at Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply