World Cup Winners; List of Champions, Runner-Ups, and Scores

World Cup Winners

The list of FIFA World Cup winners goes back to 1930. Brazil is the only team to play in every tournament and has won the most with five victories. All of the final’s matchups, scores, champions, and runners-up are listed for you to check out. The men’s tournament takes place every four years and only took 1942 and 1946 off due to World War II. 

What Happens if the World Cup Final is Tied? 

Similar to other major international soccer / football tournaments (Euros, Copa America), the same overtime rules are used in the FIFA World Cup. If the game is a draw, then extra time is used first. After that, a penalty shoot-out is used to determine the winner of the match. Fans got treated to this when Argentina defeated France in 2022 4-2 in penalties. 

How Many Teams have Played in the FIFA World Cup? 

There have been 80 different nations or countries that have played in the FIFA World Cup. During this timeframe, 13 of the 80 have made it to the World Cup Finals. Of these, eight teams have won the championship. Italy and Germany have the second most championships with four each. Germany has also reached the most FIFA World Cup finals of all teams with eight. 

List of World Cup Winners

You can check out the list of World Cup winners below. The 2026 FIFA World Cup is the first to be hosted by North America. The U.S., Canada, and Mexico will all host matches during the tournament. The Copa America 2024 tournament is using a number of the venues that are going to be used during the 2026 World Cup. 

Host CountryWinnerScore / Result
2026 North AmericaTBD
2022 QatarArgentina3-3, then Argentina defeated France 4-2 in penalties
2018 RussiaFranceFrance 4-2 Croatia
2014 BrazilGermanyGermany 1-0 Argentina
2010 South AfricaSpainSpain 1-0 Netherlands
2006 GermanyItaly1-1, then Italy beat France 5-3 in penalties
2002 Korea & JapanBrazilBrazil 2-0 Germany
1998 FranceFranceFrance 3-0 Brazil
1994 USABrazil0-0, then Brazil defeated Italy 3-2 in penalties
1990 ItalyGermanyGermany 1-0 Argentina
1986 MexicoArgentinaArgentina 3-2 Germany
1982 SpainItalyItaly 3-1 Germany
1978 ArgentinaArgentinaArgentina 3-1 Holland
1974 GermanyGermanyGermany 2-1 Holland
1970 MexicoBrazilBrazil 4-1 Italy
1966 EnglandEnglandEngland 4-2 Germany
1962 ChileBrazilBrazil 3-1 Czechoslovakia
1958 SwedenBrazilBrazil 5-2 Sweden
1954 SwitzerlandGermanyGermany 3-2 Hungary
1950 BrazilUruguayUruguay 2-1 Brazil
1946not held
1942not held
1938 FranceItalyItaly 4-2 Hungary
1934 ItalyItalyItaly 2-1 Czechoslovakia
1930 UruguayUruguayUruguay 4-2 Argentina
World Cup Results

Printable List of World Cup Winners

I always like to have a printable list of World Cup winners to follow. We have the list for you above in image and here in PDF format to download and print. 

Teams with the Most World Cup Wins

Here is the list of World Cup winners by team. If a team was the host country for the tournament, that is annotated by an asterisk. Brazil has the most wins with 5. Germany and Italy are close behind with four victories each. We also list the years that a team won and was the runner-up in the tournament. 

Brazil5 (1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, 2002)2 (1950 *, 1998)
Germany4 (1954, 1974 *, 1990, 2014)4 (1966, 1982, 1986, 2002)
Italy4 (1934 *, 1938, 1982, 2006)2 (1970, 1994)
Argentina3 (1978 *, 1986, 2022)3 (1930, 1990, 2014)
France2 (1998 *, 2018)2 (2006, 2022)
Uruguay2 (1930 *, 1950)
England1 (1966 *)
Spain1 (2010)
World Cup Winners

FIFA World Cup Highlights

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply