Ballon d’Or Winners List

Ballon d'Or Winners List

We have the Ballon d’Or winners list for you. The award is earned by the best soccer (football) player over the past year. It has been given annually since 1956. 2020 is the only year a player was not selected (due to COVID). Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or the most times with eight. Cristiano Ronaldo has earned the second-most at five. The FIFA player of the year award is a separate award. The two were combined for about five years (2010-15). We have the full list for you below. 

What is the Ballon d’Or Award? 

The Ballon d’Or or Golden Ball, is one of the most prestigious awards in sports. It is presented by French news magazine, France Football to honor the player who has performed the best over the past season. The award has been presented since 1956. Notably, the only year that the award was not given was in 2020 due to COVID. 

How is the Ballon d’Or Award Selected? 

The Ballon d’Or is voted on by a journalist panel. In 2022, a change was made to limit the voters to the top 100 countries in the FIFA rankings for the men’s award. On the ballot, each journalist selects their top five picks. Each pick has a weight based on where the voter places them. So, six points are awarded for first place, 4 for second, 3 for third, 2 for fourth, and one for fifth. 

The three main factors writers consider in the voting are: 1 – performance during the previous European soccer season (August to July), team success, and player behavior and fair play. Career excellence or achievements are not considered in the vote. In 2023 the Ballon d’Or was announced in September. For the 2024 award, it will come after the Champions League Final, Euro 24, and the Paris Olympics. 

Ballon d’Or Winners List (2000-2024)

We have the Ballon d’Or winners list for you below. To make it more readable, we split up the winners for you. 

YearPlayer NameNationalityClub
2023Lionel MessiArgentinaInter Miami
2022Karim BenzemaFranceReal Madrid
2021Lionel MessiArgentinaParis Saint-Germain F.C.
2020not awarded
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkraineMilan
2003Pavel NedvědCzechiaJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
Ballon d’Or Winners List (2000-2024)

Ballon d’Or Winners List (1975-1999)

YearPlayer NameNationalityClub
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar MatthäusGermanyInternazionale
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlandsMilan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo RossiItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia Mönchengladbach
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
Ballon d’Or Winners List (1975-1999)

Ballon d’Or Winners List (1956-1974)

YearPlayer NameNationalityClub
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsAjax
1970Gerd MüllerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyMilan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencv rosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoArgentina / SpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoArgentina / SpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool
Ballon d’Or Winners List (19556-1974)

Ballon d’Or Winners Highlights

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply