NBA Finals MVP Winners; Michael Jordan and LeBron James Lead the Way

NBA Finals MVP Winners

So, I actually like checking out the NBA Finals MVP winners list more than the regular season one. It tells us who excelled while leading their team to the championship. We have the complete list for you of all of the winners since the award started in 1969 when Jerry West won it. You can see which player, position, and team below. 

Who has Won the Most NBA Finals MVP Awards? 

So, no surprise that Michael Jordan holds the record for most NBA Finals MVP awards with six. He won the award in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, and 1998. If you remember, he took a baseball break in the middle there too. LeBron James has the next most with four awards. James won the Finals MVP in 2012, 2013, 2016, and 2020. Over the lifetime of the award, there have been more players from the Lakers than any other franchise who have won the Finals MVP. You can check out the list of regular season MVPS that we have up here too. 

NBA Finals MVP Winners (2000-2024)

The list of NBA Finals MVP winners is below. I broke them up a bit so it’s easier for you to follow. One of the things you’ll notice is that Stephen Curry only has one award from the finals. The listing of all of the NBA Championship teams is posted here for you as well. 

2023Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2022Stephen CurryGuardGolden State Warriors
2021Giannis AntetokounmpoForwardMilwaukee Bucks
2020LeBron JamesForwardLos Angeles Lakers
2019Kawhi LeonardForwardToronto Raptors
2018Kevin DurantForwardGolden State Warriors
2017Kevin DurantForwardGolden State Warriors
2016LeBron JamesForwardCleveland Cavaliers
2015Andre IguodalaForward/GuardGolden State Warriors
2014Kawhi LeonardForwardSan Antonio Spurs
2013LeBron JamesForwardMiami Heat
2012LeBron JamesForwardMiami Heat
2011Dirk NowitzkiForwardDallas Mavericks
2010Kobe BryantGuardLos Angeles Lakers
2009Kobe BryantGuardLos Angeles Lakers
2008Paul PierceForwardBoston Celtics
2007Tony ParkerGuardSan Antonio Spurs
2006Dwyane WadeGuardMiami Heat
2005Tim DuncanForward/CenterSan Antonio Spurs
2004Chauncey BillupsGuardDetroit Pistons
2003Tim DuncanForward/CenterSan Antonio Spurs
2002Shaquille O’NealCenterLos Angeles Lakers
2001Shaquille O’NealCenterLos Angeles Lakers
2000Shaquille O’NealCenterLos Angeles Lakers
NBA Finals MVP Winners (2000-2024)

NBA Finals MVP Winners (1969-1999)

So, the first NBA Finals MVP winner was a bit controversial. Jerry West won the award over Bill Russell and the Celtics. The catch? This is the only time in the history of the award that it went to a player on a losing team. That has not happened since. For Celtics fans, this would be the last time that Russell would play for an NBA Championship. 

1999Tim DuncanForward/CenterSan Antonio Spurs
1998Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1997Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1996Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1995Hakeem OlajuwonCenterHouston Rockets
1994Hakeem OlajuwonCenterHouston Rockets
1993Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1992Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1991Michael JordanGuardChicago Bulls
1990Isiah ThomasGuardDetroit Pistons
1989Joe DumarsGuardDetroit Pistons
1988James WorthyForwardLos Angeles Lakers
1987Magic JohnsonGuardLos Angeles Lakers
1986Larry BirdForwardBoston Celtics
1985Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1984Larry BirdForwardBoston Celtics
1983Moses MaloneCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1982Magic JohnsonGuardLos Angeles Lakers
1981Cedric MaxwellForwardBoston Celtics
1980Magic JohnsonGuardLos Angeles Lakers
1979Dennis JohnsonGuardSeattle SuperSonics
1978Wes UnseldCenter/ForwardWashington Bullets
1977Bill WaltonCenterPortland Trail Blazers
1976Jo Jo WhiteGuardBoston Celtics
1975Rick BarryForwardGolden State Warriors
1974John HavlicekForward/GuardBoston Celtics
1973Willis ReedCenter/ForwardNew York Knicks
1972Wilt ChamberlainCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1971Lew AlcindorCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1970Willis ReedCenter/ForwardNew York Knicks
1969Jerry WestGuardLos Angeles Lakers
NBA Finals MVP Winners (1969-1999)

NBA Finals MVP Highlights

Here’s a cool highlight video of all of the NBA Finals MVPs for you at the time of production.

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply