NBA MVP Winners; Nikola Jokić wins Third in 2024

NBA MVP Winners

We have the list of all the NBA MVP Winners for you below. The award is earned by the top performing player from the NBA regular season. Since 1981, the MVP has been selected from a vote of sportswriters and broadcasters. It is normally announced during the NBA Playoffs, but the performance measured is from the regular season body of work by the athlete. 

List of NBA MVP Winners

When you check out the list of NBA MVP winners, you’ll notice that the position of the player winning the award tends to go in groupings. Just when you think the big men won’t win it anymore, we go through a stretch like right now where it’s all power forwards and centers winning the award. That being said, the role of the center and power forward has evolved significantly over time. 

While Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has won the award a record six times and Bill Russell five times. They never took threes or played the role of “Point Forward” or “Point Center.” Michael Jordan has won the MVP five times as well as a shooting guard. LeBron James has won the MVP four times in his career. 

NBA MVP WInners 

We have broken up the list of NBA MVP winners so you can better follow the list. I list the winners out by season, winner, position, and team they played on during the regular season. Note, the NBA MVP selection is done purposely before the NBA Finals. There is a separate NBA Finals MVP award for the player who performs the best for the winning team. You can check out the list of teams who have won the NBA Finals here too.

2023-24Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2022–23Joel EmbiidCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
2021–22Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2020–21Nikola JokićCenterDenver Nuggets
2019–20Giannis AntetokounmpoPower forwardMilwaukee Bucks
2018–19Giannis AntetokounmpoPower forwardMilwaukee Bucks
2017–18James HardenShooting guardHouston Rockets
2016–17Russell WestbrookPoint guardOklahoma City Thunder
2015–16Stephen CurryPoint guardGolden State Warriors
2014–15Stephen CurryPoint guardGolden State Warriors
2013–14Kevin DurantSmall forwardOklahoma City Thunder
2012–13LeBron JamesSmall forwardMiami Heat
2011–12LeBron JamesSmall forwardMiami Heat
2010–11Derrick RosePoint guardChicago Bulls
2009–10LeBron JamesSmall forwardCleveland Cavaliers
2008–09LeBron JamesSmall forwardCleveland Cavaliers
2007–08Kobe BryantShooting guardLos Angeles Lakers
2006–07Dirk NowitzkiPower forwardDallas Mavericks
2005–06Steve NashPoint guardPhoenix Suns
2004–05Steve NashPoint guardPhoenix Suns
2003–04Kevin GarnettPower forwardMinnesota Timberwolves
2002–03Tim DuncanPower forwardSan Antonio Spurs
2001–02Tim DuncanPower forwardSan Antonio Spurs
2000–01Allen IversonShooting guardPhiladelphia 76ers
NBA MVP Winners (2001-2024)

NBA MVP Winners (1956-2000)

1999–00Shaquille O’NealCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1998–99Karl MalonePower forwardUtah Jazz
1997–98Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1996–97Karl MalonePower forwardUtah Jazz
1995–96Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1994–95David RobinsonCenterSan Antonio Spurs
1993–94Hakeem OlajuwonCenterHouston Rockets
1992–93Charles BarkleyPower forwardPhoenix Suns
1991–92Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1990–91Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1989–90Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1988–89Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1987–88Michael JordanShooting guardChicago Bulls
1986–87Magic JohnsonPoint guardLos Angeles Lakers
1985–86Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1984–85Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1983–84Larry BirdSmall forwardBoston Celtics
1982–83Moses MaloneCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1981–82Moses MaloneCenterHouston Rockets
1980–81Julius ErvingSmall forwardPhiladelphia 76ers
1979–80Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1978–79Moses MaloneCenterHouston Rockets
1977–78Bill WaltonCenterPortland Trail Blazers
1976–77Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1975–76Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterLos Angeles Lakers
1974–75Bob McAdooCenterBuffalo Braves
1973–74Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1972–73Dave CowensCenterBoston Celtics
1971–72Kareem Abdul-JabbarCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1970–71Lew AlcindorCenterMilwaukee Bucks
1969–70Willis ReedCenterNew York Knicks
1968–69Wes UnseldCenterBaltimore Bullets
1967–68Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1966–67Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1965–66Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia 76ers
1964–65Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1963–64Oscar RobertsonPoint guardCincinnati Royals
1962–63Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1961–62Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1960–61Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1959–60Wilt ChamberlainCenterPhiladelphia Warriors
1958–59Bob PettitPower forwardSt. Louis Hawks
1957–58Bill RussellCenterBoston Celtics
1956–57Bob CousyPoint guardBoston Celtics
1955–56Bob PettitPower forwardSt. Louis Hawks
NBA MVP Winners (1956-2000)

NBA MVP Highlights (Since 2001)

Here’s a cool highlight reel of the top NBA MVP plays for a grunch of the years since 2001. 

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply