2024 Kentucky Derby Post Positions are Out; Updated Derby Odds and more.

2024 Kentucky Derby Post Positions

We are officially one week out from the 150th Run for the Roses. The 2024 Kentucky Derby post positions are out. The draw was held earlier this evening for racing fans. We have those and the updated odds heading into the rest of the weekend and the buildup to the Kentucky Derby next week. We’ll go over these and some other bits and pieces to help you pan out your weekend. 

Past Kentucky Derby Winners by Post Position

Before getting into the 2024 Kentucky Derby post positions, we need to take a look at how many winners have raced out of each spot. The numbers definitely paint a picture that if a horse is racing out of positions one through 10 they are more likely to win. The outside horses, while not shutout, have had less success. 

Post positionKentucky Derby winners
Winners by Post Position in the Kentucky Derby

2024 Kentucky Derby Post Positions and Odds

The 2024 Kentucky Derby post positions were determined by a draw. During the draw earlier this evening, an official will draw a horses name from a pile of names. Another race official will then draw a gate number. They continue the process until all of the positions are set. You’ll see that Fierceness got #17 which has never had a Kentucky Derby winner race out of this gate. Sierra Leone (3-1) is racing from the second gate (seven winners all time out of this spot). Catching Freedom is at the fourth gate (five winners out of this position. 

Here’s the final post positions, the horse trainer, jockey, and updated 2024 Kentucky Derby odds for you. 

1. Dornoch, Danny Gargan, Luis Saez, 20-1

2. Sierra Leone, Chad Brown, Tyler Gaffalione, 3-1

3. Mystik Dan, Kenny McPeek, Brian Hernandez Jr., 20-1

4. Catching Freedom, Brad Cox, Flavien Prat, 8-1

5. Catalytic, Saffie Joseph Jr., Jose Ortiz, 30-1

6. Just Steel, D. Wayne Lukas, Keith Asmussen, 20-1

7. Honor Marie, Whit Beckman, Ben Curtis, 20-1

8. Just a Touch, Brad Cox, Florent Geroux, 10-1

9. Encino, Brad Cox, Axel Concepcion, 20-1

10. T O Password, Daisuke Takayanagi, Kazushi Kimura, 30-1

11. Forever Young, Yoshito Yahagi, Ryusei Sakai, 10-1

12. Track Phantom, Steve Asmussen, Joel Rosario, 20-1

13. West Saratoga, Larry Demeritte, Jesus Castanon, 50-1

14. Endlessly, Michael McCarthy, Umberto Rispoli, 30-1

15. Domestic Product, Chad Brown, Irad Ortiz Jr., 30-1

16. Grand Mo the First, Victor Barboza Jr., Emisael Jaramillo, 50-1

17. Fierceness, Todd Pletcher, John Velazquez, 5-2

18. Stronghold, Phil D’Amato, Antonio Fresu, 20-1

19. Resilience, Bill Mott, Junior Alvarado, 20-1

20. Society Man, Danny Gargan, Frankie Dettori, 50-1

If there are any scratches from the race, Epic Ride and Mugatu are also eligible to race. We’ll keep you updated on any changes. 

When is the 2024 Kentucky Derby? 

The 2024 Kentucky Derby is set for Saturday, May 4th, 2024. The race takes place at 6:45 PM ET. The race time can vary slightly, but generally goes down on time from my experience. 

Kentucky Derby Highlights from the 2000s

To get you pumped up for next weekend. Here are some highlights from the Derbys over the 2000s. 

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply