NHL MVP Winners; HOFs Gretzky and Howe Lead the Way

NHL MVP Winners

We have the list of all the NHL MVP winners for you. The award is known as The Hart Memorial Trophy and has been won by 61 different players. Wayne Gretzky has won the most with nine awards and Gordon Howe has six. The award is selected by a vote by the Professional Hockey Writers association. Connor McDavid has won the most awards recently with three through the 2022-23 season. 

Why Is the NHL MVP Award Called the Hart Memorial Trophy?

The NHL MVP award is formally known as the Hart Memorial Trophy. It’s named in honor of Dr. David Hart who donated the original trophy to the league. He was the father of a former coach and GM of the Montreal Canadiens (Cecil Hart). The winner of the MVP does not need to be on the Stanley Cup winner’s team either (though it doesn’t hurt). The winner typically is on a team that makes the NHL Playoffs in most seasons. 

NHL MVP Winners – Players with the Most Awards

Wayne Gretzky9
Gordie Howe6
Eddie Shore4
Alex Ovechkin3
Mario Lemieux3
Bobby Clarke3
Bobby Orr3
Howie Morenz3
Connor McDavid3
Sidney Crosby2
Dominik Hasek2
Mark Messier2
Guy Lafleur2
Phil Esposito2
Stan Mikita2
Bobby Hull2
Jean Beliveau2
Bill Cowley2
Nels Stewart2
Hart Memorial Trophy Winners

List of All of the NHL MVP Winners

For the list of all of the NHL MVP winners, we go oldest to newest. You’ll see some team names on the Hart Memorial Award winners that are no longer used in the NHL too. 

SeasonAward WinnerTeam
1923-24Frank NighborOttawa Senators
1924-25Billy BurchHamilton Tigers
1925-26Nels StewartMontreal Maroons
1926-27Herb GardinerMontreal Canadiens
1927-28Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens
1928-29Roy WortersNew York Americans
1929-30Nels StewartMontreal Maroons
1930-31Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens
1931-32Howie MorenzMontreal Canadiens
1932-33Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins
1933-34Aurel JoliatMontreal Canadiens
1934-35Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins
1935-36Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins
1936-37Albert “Babe” SiebertMontreal Canadiens
1937-38Eddie ShoreBoston Bruins
1938-39Hector “Toe” BlakeMontreal Canadiens
1939-40Ebbie GoodfellowDetroit Red Wings
1940-41Bill CowleyBoston Bruins
1941-42Tommy AndersonBrooklyn Americans
1942-43Bill CowleyBoston Bruins
1943-44Walter “Babe” PrattToronto Maple Leafs
1944-45Elmer LachMontreal Canadiens
1945-46Max BentleyChicago Blackhawks
1946-47Maurice “Rocket” RichardMontreal Canadiens
1947-48Herbert “Buddy” O’ConnorNew York Rangers
1948-49Sid AbelDetroit Red Wings
1949-50Chuck RaynerNew York Rangers
1950-51Milt SchmidtBoston Bruins
1951-52Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1952-53Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1953-54Al RollinsChicago Blackhawks
1954-55Ted KennedyToronto Maple Leafs
1955-56Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens
1956-57Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1957-58Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1958-59Andy BathgateNew York Rangers
1959-60Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1960-61Bernie “Boom-Boom” GeoffrionMontreal Canadiens
1961-62Jacques PlanteMontreal Canadiens
1962-63Gordie HoweDetroit Red Wings
1963-64Jean BeliveauMontreal Canadiens
1964-65Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks
1965-66Bobby HullChicago Blackhawks
1966-67Stan MikitaChicago Blackhawks
1967-68Stan MikitaChicago Blackhawks
1968-69Phil EspositoBoston Bruins
1969-70Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1970-71Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1971-72Bobby OrrBoston Bruins
1972-73Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers
1973-74Phil EspositoBoston Bruins
1974-75Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers
1975-76Bobby ClarkePhiladelphia Flyers
1976-77Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens
1977-78Guy LafleurMontreal Canadiens
1978-79Bryan TrottierNew York Islanders
1979-80Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1980-81Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1981-82Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1982-83Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1983-84Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1984-85Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1985-86Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1986-87Wayne GretzkyEdmonton Oilers
1987-88Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins
1988-89Wayne GretzkyLos Angeles Kings
1989-90Mark MessierEdmonton Oilers
1990-91Brett HullSt. Louis Blues
1991-92Mark MessierNew York Rangers
1992-93Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins
1993-94Sergei FedorovDetroit Red Wings
1994-95Eric LindrosPhiladelphia Flyers
1995-96Mario LemieuxPittsburgh Penguins
1996-97Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1997-98Dominik HasekBuffalo Sabres
1998-99Jaromir JagrPittsburgh Penguins
1999-00Chris ProngerSt. Louis Blues
2000-01Joe SakicColorado Avalanche
2001-02Jose TheodoreMontreal Canadiens
2002-03Peter ForsbergColorado Avalanche
2003-04Martin St. LouisTampa Bay Lightning
2005-06Joe ThorntonBoston-San Jose
2006-07Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins
2007-08Alex OvechkinWashington Capitals
2008-09Alex OvechkinWashington Capitals
2009-10Henrik SedinVancouver Canucks
2010-11Corey PerryAnaheim Ducks
2011-12Evgeni MalkinPittsburgh Penguins
2012-13Alex OvechkinWashington Capitals
2013-14Sidney CrosbyPittsburgh Penguins
2014-15Carey PriceMontreal Canadiens
2015-16Patrick KaneChicago Blackhawks
2016-17Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers
2017-18Taylor HallNew Jersey Devils
2018-19Nikita KucherovTampa Bay Lightning
2019-20Leon DraisaitlEdmonton Oilers
2020-21Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers
2021-22Auston MatthewsToronto Maple Leafs
2022-23Connor McDavidEdmonton Oilers
2023-24Nathan MacKinnonColorado Avalanche
List of NHL MVP Winners

Wayne Gretzky Highlights

Here’s some highlights of “The Great One” for you. 

Will Lewis

Have been covering sports of all types for more than 18 years. March Madness is my favorite time of year before we hit the NBA and NHL playoffs. Will is a lifelong Kentucky Wildcats fan and rooted for the Bengals way back when Joe Montana dashed our hopes and dreams. Now a Padres fan as well. He covers all sports here at Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply