MLB MVP Winners List; Shohei Othani, Bryce Harper have Won Two

MLB MVP Winners List

The MLB MVP Winners list includes awards for both the American and National Leagues. The MVP is given each year based on a vote by the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA). The award goes to the best player in each league and is announced after the World Series. Mike Trout has the most awards of active players with three. 

Who has Won the Most MLB MVP Awards? 

At the time of this writing, Barry Bonds has the most MVP awards with seven. Mike Trout is tied with a number of other players for second place with three. Shohei Ohtani and Bryce Harper will try to tie him this season now that he has shifted to the National League (he has two). Here is the list of the players with three or more MVP awards. 

  • Barry Bonds – 7 (1990, 1992, 1993, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004)
  • Mike Trout – 3 (2014, 2016, 2019)
  • Albert Pujols – 3 (2005, 2008, 2009)
  • Alex Rodriguez – 3 (2023, 2005, 2007)
  • Jimmie Foxx – 3 (1932, 1933, 1938)
  • Joe DiMaggio – 3 (1939, 1941, 1947)
  • Mickey Mantle – 3 (1956, 1957, 1962)
  • Mike Schmidt – 3 (1980, 1981, 1986)
  • Roy Campanella – 3 (1951, 1953, 1955)
  • Stan Musial – 3 (1943, 1946, 1948)
  • Yogi Berra – 3 (1951, 1954, 1955)

MLB MVP Winners List

The MLB MVP winners list has players from both leagues selected as MVP for that year. The player’s team and primary position played for the year of award is listed in the table. We have also broken the table up some to help with your readability. The award is voted on based on the season’s work by the player. Their team is not required to make a run in the MLB playoffs to win the award. It is for the body of work completed in the MLB regular season. More recently, you have seen things like OPS, WAR, and WHIP taken into account when measuring a player’s stats for the MVP award. 

AL MVP WinnersNL MVP Winners
2023Shohei OhtaniLA AngelsDH/SP2023Ronald Acuña Jr.AtlantaOF
2022Aaron JudgeNY YankeesOF2022Paul GoldschmidtSt. Louis1B
2021Shohei OhtaniLA AngelsDH/SP2021Bryce HarperPhiladelphiaOF
2020José AbreuChi White Sox1B2020Freddie FreemanAtlanta1B
2019Mike TroutLA AngelsCF2019Cody BellingerLA DodgersRF
2018Mookie BettsBostonOF2018Christian YelichMilwaukeeOF
2017Jose AltuveHouston2B2017Giancarlo StantonMiamiRF
2016Mike TroutLA AngelsCF2016Kris BryantChi Cubs3B
2015Josh DonaldsonToronto3B2015Bryce HarperWashingtonRF
2014Mike TroutLA AngelsCF2014Clayton KershawLA DodgersSP
2013Miguel CabreraDetroit3B2013Andrew McCutchenPittsburghOF
2012Miguel CabreraDetroit3B2012Buster PoseySan FranciscoC
2011Justin VerlanderDetroitSP2011Ryan BraunMilwaukeeOF
2010Josh HamiltonTexasOF2010Joey VottoCincinnati1B
2009Joe MauerMinnesotaC2009Albert PujolsSt. Louis1B
2008Dustin PedroiaBoston2B2008Albert PujolsSt. Louis1B
2007Alex RodriguezNY Yankees3B2007Jimmy RollinsPhiladelphiaSS
2006Justin MorneauMinnesota1B2006Ryan HowardPhiladelphia1B
2005Alex RodriguezNY Yankees3B2005Albert PujolsSt. Louis1B
2004Vladimir GuerreroAnaheimOF2004Barry BondsSan FranciscoOF
2003Alex RodriguezTexasSS2003Barry BondsSan FranciscoOF
2002Miguel TejadaOaklandSS2002Barry BondsSan FranciscoOF
2001Ichiro SuzukiSeattleOF2001Barry BondsSan FranciscoOF
2000Jason GiambiOakland1B2000Jeff KentSan Francisco2B
1999Ivan RodriguezTexasC1999Chipper JonesAtlanta3B
1998Juan GonzalezTexasOF1998Sammy SosaChi CubsOF
1997Ken Griffey Jr.SeattleOF1997Larry WalkerColoradoOF
1996Juan GonzalezTexasOF1996Ken CaminitiSan Diego3B
1995Mo VaughnBoston1B1995Barry LarkinCincinnatiSS
1994Frank ThomasChi White Sox1B1994Jeff BagwellHouston1B
1993Frank ThomasChi White Sox1B1993Barry BondsSan FranciscoOF
1992Dennis EckersleyOaklandRP1992Barry BondsPittsburghOF
1991Cal Ripken Jr.BaltimoreSS1991Terry PendletonAtlanta3B
1990Rickey HendersonOaklandOF1990Barry BondsPittsburghOF
1989Robin YountMilwaukeeOF1989Kevin MitchellSan FranciscoOF
1988Jose CansecoOaklandOF1988Kirk GibsonLos AngelesOF
1987George BellTorontoOF1987Andre DawsonChi CubsOF
1986Roger ClemensBostonSP1986Mike SchmidtPhiladelphia3B
1985Don MattinglyNY Yankees1B1985Willie McGeeSt. LouisOF
MLB MVP Winners List 1961-2023

MLB MVP Winners List (1961-1984)

1984Willie HernandezDetroitRP1984Ryne SandbergChi Cubs2B
1983Cal Ripken Jr.BaltimoreSS1983Dale MurphyAtlantaOF
1982Robin YountMilwaukeeSS1982Dale MurphyAtlantaOF
1981Rollie FingersMilwaukeeRP1981Mike SchmidtPhiladelphia3B
1980George BrettKansas City3B1980Mike SchmidtPhiladelphia3B
1979Don BaylorCaliforniaOF1979Keith HernandezSt. Louis1B
1978Jim RiceBostonOF1979Willie StargellPittsburgh1B
1977Rod CarewMinnesota1B1978Dave ParkerPittsburghOF
1976Thurman MunsonNY YankeesC1977George FosterCincinnatiOF
1975Fred LynnBostonOF1976Joe MorganCincinnati2B
1974Jeff BurroughsTexasOF1975Joe MorganCincinnati2B
1973Reggie JacksonOaklandOF1974Steve GarveyLos Angeles1B
1972Dick AllenChi White Sox1B1973Pete RoseCincinnatiOF
1971Vida BlueOaklandSP1972Johnny BenchCincinnatiC
1970Boog PowellBaltimore1B1971Joe TorreSt. Louis3B
1969Harmon KillebrewMinnesota3B1970Johnny BenchCincinnatiC
1968Denny McLainDetroitSP1969Willie McCoveySan Francisco1B
1967Carl YastrzemskiBostonOF1968Bob GibsonSt. LouisSP
1966Frank RobinsonBaltimoreOF1967Orlando CepedaSt. Louis1B
1965Zoilo VersallesMinnesotaSS1966Roberto ClementePittsburghOF
1964Brooks RobinsonBaltimore3B1965Willie MaysSan FranciscoOF
1963Elston HowardNY YankeesC1964Ken BoyerSt. Louis3B
1962Mickey MantleNY YankeesOF1963Sandy KoufaxLA DodgersSP
1961Roger MarisNY YankeesOF1962Maury WillsLA DodgersSS
MLB MVP Winners List (1961-1984)

MLB MVP Winners List (1931-1961)

1960Roger MarisNY YankeesOF1961Frank RobinsonCincinnatiOF
1959Nellie FoxChi White Sox2B1960Dick GroatPittsburghSS
1958Jackie JensenBostonOF1959Ernie BanksChi CubsSS
1957Mickey MantleNY YankeesOF1958Ernie BanksChi CubsSS
1956Mickey MantleNY YankeesOF1957Hank AaronMilwaukeeOF
1955Yogi BerraNY YankeesC1956Don NewcombeBrooklynSP
1954Yogi BerraNY YankeesC1955Roy CampanellaBrooklynC
1953Al RosenCleveland3B1954Willie MaysNY GiantsOF
1952Bobby ShantzPhi. AthleticsSP1953Roy CampanellaBrooklynC
1951Yogi BerraNY YankeesC1952Hank SauerChi CubsOF
1950Phil RizzutoNY YankeesSS1951Roy CampanellaBrooklynC
1949Ted WilliamsBostonOF1950Jim KonstantyPhiladelphiaRP
1948Lou BoudreauClevelandSS1949Jackie RobinsonBrooklyn2B
1947Joe DiMaggioNY YankeesOF1948Stan MusialSt. LouisOF
1946Ted WilliamsBostonOF1947Bob ElliottBsn. Braves3B
1945Hal NewhouserDetroitSP1946Stan MusialSt. Louis1B
1944Hal NewhouserDetroitSP1945Phil CavarrettaChi Cubs1B
1943Spud ChandlerNY YankeesSP1944Marty MarionSt. LouisSS
1942Joe GordonNY Yankees2B1943Stan MusialSt. LouisOF
1941Joe DiMaggioNY YankeesOF1942Mort CooperSt. LouisSP
1940Hank GreenbergDetroitOF1941Dolph CamilliBrooklyn1B
1939Joe DiMaggioNY YankeesOF1940Frank McCormickCincinnati1B
1938Jimmie FoxxBoston1B1939Bucky WaltersCincinnatiSP
1937Charlie GehringerDetroit2B1938Ernie LombardiCincinnatiC
1936Lou GehrigNY Yankees1B1937Joe MedwickSt. LouisOF
1935Hank GreenbergDetroit1B1936Carl HubbellNY GiantsSP
1934Mickey CochraneDetroitC1935Gabby HartnettChi CubsC
1933Jimmie FoxxPhi. Athletics1B1934Dizzy DeanSt. LouisSP
1932Jimmie FoxxPhi. Athletics1B1933Carl HubbellNY GiantsSP
1931Lefty GrovePhi. AthleticsSP1932Chuck KleinPhiladelphiaOF
1931Frankie FrischSt. Louis2B
MLB MVP Winners List (1931-1961)

Bryce Harper 2021 NL MVP Highlights

Will Lewis

Have been covering sports of all types for more than 18 years. March Madness is my favorite time of year before we hit the NBA and NHL playoffs. Will is a lifelong Kentucky Wildcats fan and rooted for the Bengals way back when Joe Montana dashed our hopes and dreams. Now a Padres fan as well. He covers all sports here at Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply