2024 ESPY Awards Hosted by Serena Williams; TV Schedule, Nominees

2024 ESPY Awards

The 2024 ESPY Awards are scheduled for Thursday, July 11th, 2024. Serena Williams is the host this year, and they will be held at the Dolby Theater in Los Angeles, California. This will be tennis legend Serena Williams’s first time hosting the ESPYs. The popular awards show is set to be shown live on ABC this year and will be the 32nd time the awards show is held. Last year, we did not have a host for the show since the writer’s strike was ongoing, so we’re all looking forward to Serena hosting this year. 

When do the 2024 ESPY Awards Take Place?  

So, by design, the ESPYs are scheduled after the NBA Finals and before the British Open kicks off. We still have a few days of Wimbledon going on this year though, but it’s about the least painful place that the show can be scheduled. 

2024 ESPY Awards TV Schedule

The 2024 ESPN Awards TV schedule starts promptly at 8PM ET on July 11th, 2024. The show is on a Thursday night and is being shown on ABC. Just about every major streaming service carries the network (YouTube TV, Hulu + Live TV, Fubo, etc) as well as cable networks and even over the air broadcasts. 

2024 ESPN Nominees

The 2024 ESPN nominees will be announced later in June this year. In 2023, the nominee list was published on June 21st. Then, it opens up to fan voting until a day or two before the event. Once we have the confirmed nominee list, we’ll post it here for you as well as the voting link so you can weigh in on your favorite athletes. When the voting is opened up, ESPN will have the link up here for you to make your picks. 

Background Behind the ESPY Awards

The 2024 ESPY awards are officially known as the 2024 ESPYs presented by Capital One. We’ll get to see all of the top celebrities from entertainment and ports to recognize the major athletic achievements from the past year. The awards show is also used to help raise money and overall awareness for the V Foundation for Cancer Research that was first put out at the first ESPYS in 1993. Since then, the awards show has combined the best of Sports Stars and celebrities to deliver on a great show. 

When Did the ESPY Awards get Started? 

The ESPY awards were initially started by ESPN in 1993. They let fans from across teh world vote online for a variety of categories like Team of the Year, Best Female Athlete, Best Coach, Best Male Athlete, and more. Another big highlight of the night is The Arthur Ashe Courage Award. This award honors an individual for their personal courage or charitable works outside the sports arena. Now, one cool thing about the ESPYs is that while ESPN started them, the name of the award stands for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly Award. 

Who has Won the Most ESPY Awards? 

So, Tiger Woods has won the most ESPY awards. Over his career, Tiger has won 21 total ESPYs. He has not only won the Best Male Golfer award but also the Best Male Athlete. He last won an ESPY in 2008 (Best Male Athlete). 

2023 ESPY Award Winners and Nominees

So, while we get ready for the 2024 nominees and winners, here is the list of the 2023 ESPY winners. 

Best Athlete, Men’s Sports

Winner: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Best Athlete, Women’s Sports

Winner: Mikaela Shiffrin, Skiing

Best Breakthrough Athlete

Winner: Angel Reese, LSU Women’s Basketball

Best Record-Breaking Performance

Winner: LeBron James surpasses Kareem Abdul-Jabbar for NBA career scoring record

Best Championship Performance

Winner: Lionel Messi, Argentina – 2022 World Cup Final

Best Comeback Athlete

Winner: Jamal Murray, Denver Nuggets

Best Play

Winner: Justin Jefferson with the Catch of the Century NFL

Best Team

Winner: Kansas City Chiefs, NFL

Best College Athlete, Men’s Sports

Winner: Caleb Williams, USC Football

Best College Athlete, Women’s Sports

Winner: Caitlin Clark, Iowa Women’s Basketball

Best Athlete With a Disability

Winner: Zach Miller, Snowboarding

Best NFL Player

Winner: Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs

Best MLB Player

Winner: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels

Best NHL Player

Winner: Jonathan Marchessault, Vegas Golden Knights

Best NBA Player

Winner: Nikola Jokić, Denver Nuggets

Best WNBA Player

Winner: A’ja Wilson, Las Vegas Aces

Best Driver

Winner: Max Verstappen, F1

Best UFC Fighter

Winner: Jon Jones

Best Boxer

Winner: Claressa Shields

Best Soccer Player

Winner: Lionel Messi, Argentina/PSG

Best Golfer

Winner: Scottie Scheffler

Best Tennis Player

Winner: Novak Djokovic

Pat McAfee’s Opening of the 2023 ESPYs

Jacey Tine

Jacey Tine is a lifelong San Diego Padres and Florida Gators fan. She has been delivering sports coverage and content for 7 years and counting now. You'll find her covering a number of sports and other news-worthy events on Sports Brackets.

Leave a Reply